October 04, 2004

8:13 p.m.


Can I get an Amen?

What I last ate Jambalaya
What I last drank The largest glass of water I could find
Song in my head Ring of Fire (oh, the irony...)

I have to come clean on the whole church concept.

About three years ago, I started going to church regularly. I enjoyed it quite a bit as it was a small quaint congregation and the people were real nice. And there was this guy, Art, who sang in the choir. He really enjoyed himself and, subsequently, we REALLY love watching him do this thing.

But, I have to be highly organized during the week and I try not to be on the weekend. And let's not forget that I'm lazy. It's not that I can't wake up early and go to church. I have an 8 month old. I'm an early rising lazy person as I want to get up and start being lazy right away for as long as possible.

This is why I'd really like to have church at my house. Now, I'm not talking about doing something weird like starting up my own religion and asking people over for Kool-aid. I'd still consider myself a practing Methodist. I just want to practice my way.

This is roughly how the Sunday Church would go at my house:

Service would start at about 8am. This is just enough time to get to the have coffee and secure the Sunday paper before service. At 8am we start the music. Music is my favorite part of church. I hear about 50% of what the pastor says in church but I hear 100% of the choir! I'd play my Mahalia Jackson as loud as I could get away with. I'd even try to sneak in some of the more spiritual tunes from Mr. Lyle Lovett. We'd sing as loud as we could and I'd dance with the baby.

Okay, really, that's as far as I've gotten. Not sure what I'd do for the sermon but we might just watch Veggie Tales. I need to work on that part.

The point is, we'd have fun. And, as much as I love love love the idea of everybody getting dressed up in their Sunday best, we could do this in our jammies...

Amen.

posted by just-maggie at 8:13 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some