September 30, 2004

8:31 p.m.


After chow ciao

What I last ate Pasta with vegetables (okay, frozen peas.)
What I last drank 2003 Lindeman's Bin 99 Pinor Noir (not as soon as I hoped...)
Song in my head If You Ever Stopped Loving Me

I think I'm going to learn Italian. Read: I'm going to attempt to teach myself Italian with horrible tapes and books while my daughter is napping....

I'm optimistic about my learning abilities as I am actually Italian. Well, Italian American. But I am very strong in the Italian section.

I only know a few words currently. The things my grandmother has taught me (that should probably not be used in conversation) and stuff I can use with my friend Steve (who is also very Italian. He also runs a master planned community in Las Vegas where the security guards are actually packing heat. Really, I think this makes him like the Community Godfather...)

I just think that speaking Italian would be just too fun. And really, I think it would make me quite cool. I'm sure that in a good ten years, it will impress my daughter. It will take me that long to learn.

It will also make my ancestors proud. Right now, I think they may be a little pissed off at me for actually making a voluntary decision last week to eat something labeled "low carb." The words "low carb" should never escape an Italians lips. We are genetically designed to eat nothing but pasta and bread and drink red wine. Unfortunately, J.Lo booties are also part of the genetic make-up....

I'll let you know how it goes. I'm going to get right on it. Just as soon as I get another glass of wine....

posted by just-maggie at 8:31 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some