October 27, 2004

7:44 p.m.


Let them eat sausage!!!

What I last ate Leftover spaghetti with Bolognese Sauce
What I last drank Hot Cocoa
Song in my head The Ride

You can't tell me kids aren't like having a live science experiment at home.

Not that I run my kid thorugh weird tests or anything. Heavens no. But I am fortunate in that I married the youngest son of a family that had 4 grandchildren in it before we even got married. So, needless to say, I have learned from the mistakes of my in-laws.

My neice and nephew have always been the world's pickiest eaters. White bread, crust off. Pasta, no sauce. Baked potato, plain. Basically, they eat like old starving Irish farmers... So now that my daughter is of regular food eating stage I have found that this is where the science experiment comes into play.

My husband and I like spicy food. My husband has lived in spicy food Meccas like South America and Ethiopia. If you've never had Ethiopian food, you must. Make sure to bring Pepto Bismal, Pepcid AC, and TUMS and don't tell them you want it REALLY hot.

If you are to be a kid in our family, you have to get used to this. I started working on my daughter when she was just a little bean in my belly. I ate pickled jalapenos straight out of the jar during pregnancy. Hell, if I was going to have heartburn I'd better make it for a reason than for nothing at all. Last night for dinner, we gave her Italian sausage. Loved it. We have given her curry. Loved it. We are not bland food people. We eat bread with crunchy things in it, too. The way I look at it, she doesn't need to know bread comes any other way. My husband lived in Pakistan for two years growing up and thought all soup just came with weevils. Same thought, less gross.

Now, I know what is going to happen. My sister-in-law (mother of picky eaters) will give my daughter white crustless bread, ramen noodles, dry potatoes and *GULP* Spaghetti O's the first chance she gets. I mean no offense to those that eat Spaghetti O's or feed them to their own children. But again, I am Italian and if I did this I am sure my dad would hear the can opening over at his house and come over and beat my ass.

So each day I look in the refrigerator and think, "Now, what can I feed her TODAY!" So far, so good. The only food she has turned her nose up at is watermelon. I'm sure it's a texture thing. No allergies, no projectile vomiting, no nothin'. I think it's cool my daughter prefers mangoes over apples. Pork tenderloin over processed ham. I'm giving her the good stuff early. Let her know there is good food out there. I just pity the first boy that takes her out to dinner...

posted by just-maggie at 7:44 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some