October 25, 2004

7:54 p.m.


I just want to go to the bathroom!

What I last ate Steak and a pasta side thingy
What I last drank Water
Song in my head Old Weakness

I want my bathroom back. And I'd almost be willing to just have the ugly one back.

Back in, oh say, July, my well intending husband decided to try to fix a leaky shower. A bent pipe and 200 bucks later, we're staring at uping the date on the remodel of the bathroom. See, to repair my husband's repair job, they would have to destroy the tile that I hated. Darn. I can see an opportunity here...

I'm strategic. I'm a planner. I'm not the type of person that would want the gender of my baby to be a surprise. I'm also a control freak. This means that going to Home Depot Expo with me to look at new bathroom wall tile can easily become anyone's idea of hell. Did I also mention we decided to get new cabinets, mirrors, coutertops, sinks, fixtures, flooring and a way cool jetted shower thingy? Oh! And all new lighting! Wheeeeee!

This has all bitten me square on the ass. It is almost November. I have cabinets. They're installed. Finally. My parents live two miles away. You would think this would be handy. My dad loves to check our "progress." He's a bigger control freak than I am. Apparently the tile I picked for the floors, countertops and walls are "all wrong." Not that this matters because we still haven't finished the demolition in the shower! AND, it took my dad, his friend, and my husband three, count them, three hours to make nine cuts for the plywood I'm putting the countertop tile on.

My cabinets are pretty. I'm done painting the whole bathroom and bedroom. I have even put the new bedding on the bed. (Okay, so the decorating spilled over a teensy bit...) I just want to be able to brush my teeth in my own bathroom. I want to use my shower. I am just thankful we have two bathrooms.

I have no idea when this project will be finished. We have a ways to go. I need a lot of things to happen. Winning the lottery is amoung them. Besides that, I could use a jack hammer, tile saw, someone who can built a seat in the shower, and a plumber.

posted by just-maggie at 7:54 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some