November 03, 2004

7:53 p.m.


Not so light music

What I last ate A large salad
What I last drank Coffee (bad news, I know)
Song in my head Holy Water

There have been a few times that I've heard a song and been floored. Just for some reason floored.

I saw Sarah MacLachlan in concert and she sang "Angel." No piano, no nothing. Just her voice and that song. It was so beautiful.

The first time I heard Martina McBride sing "Love's the Only House" I was with my good friend Barbara, who has been through a good lot in her young life. That song made sense and it was so real and so true and that moment made it even more so.

One of my favorite moments, ever, happened about a year and a half ago. I was sitting in a beach chair at Playa Las Gatas in Zihuatanejo, Mexico. You can only get to this beach by water taxi and it was early morning so it was empty. Words can't describe how beautiful this place is. I know why Andy Dufraine choose to life out his life there. A boat had pulled up to drop off supplies for the day to one of the restaurants/cantinas/whatevers. He had a radio playing Van Morrison's "And It Stoned Me." Few times in my life have I been that content and felt like the world was perfect.

Yesterday, I heard a song that has struck me deep inside. It's stirred such strong emotions. I can't even really put it in words (this has been happening to me a lot lately, by the way. I just kind of let it go...) If you have five mintues to kill, go here and click on "Holy Water." I'll warn you upfront it's country.

posted by just-maggie at 7:53 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some