November 04, 2004

7:55 p.m.


Random thoughts of a girlie girl

What I last ate General's Spicy Chicken and Lo Mein
What I last drank A Four Peak's Kiltlifter Scottish Ale (I'm having another and you can't stop me.)
Song in my head Indian Outlaw

Yesterday, I was described as being the "girlie" girl in the office. I can neither confirm nor deny such allegations. I have never thought myself to be "girlie." I don't know when this may have happened that I became "girlie" but it must have snuck up on me. I have never been referred to as "girlie" before this. I have been, however, called "manly." So, I'm stumped. I think the next time someone calls me "girlie" I'll be force to kick their ass. I will do this in a pink sweater twinset and pearls (real ones, mind you) and using my matching pink Kate Spade handbag...

****************************

My husband works nights. I hate this for a number of reasons. The fact that I miss him goes without saying. Another is that I'm a talker. I firmly believe that everyone was born with a certain level of daily word usage. Mine just happens to be higher than most other people. My sister tops the list of highest users. If I don't get to use enough words at work (my poor officemates...) I'm at a loss. This is partly why I love this diary thing. Other than that, I talk to myself a whole lot at night. Another reason I hate it is because I get bored easily. I'm not a TV perosn and never will be. So I've taken to playing Texas Hold 'em online with fake money. That and I'm re-reading Catcher in the Rye. It's a very different book when your 30. I may write an essay about that just because I have the time...

*************************

I just joined Queen Trixie�s I Have a Theory Diaryring as I realized in typing today's entry that I have a theory. I have two as a matter of fact. I don't know what this entails as I am not a member of any other diaryring. So, Trixie, if you're reading this, please let me know if there is some special handshake or hazing I need to be made aware of...

*************************

Today, my assistant asked me to choose a dessert from a long list. You can imagine my excitement! After careful thought I made my choice, as there were many tasty treats to choose from. (Note to self: Stop ending sentences with prepositions.) After making my choice my lovely assistant read to me a personality profile. What the hell is THAT!?!?! I was very sad to find out the question involved no dessert at all. I really don't care that I have a tendency to be a "risk taker," I want the damn cake!!!

*************************

Sadly, a friend of mine suffered her 6th miscarriage this week. My heart aches for her and I held my daughter just a little longer before putting her to bed tonight. It took my husband and I a year to get pregnant the first time and it resulted in a D & C two years ago Monday. I can only imagine what that pain mulitplied by 6 would be. My pain was healed when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter on the day the baby I lost was due. I pray the same for my friend....

posted by just-maggie at 7:55 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some