February 24, 2005

9:35 p.m.


Goodbye sweet girl

What I last ate Pork chops
What I last drank Pepsi
Song in my head Holy Water

I had to do something yesterday that I've never had to do. I had to put my dog to sleep.

She was 13 years old. A yellow lab. She was struck with Valley Fever 6 years ago and beat it. The last year has not been a good one for her and the last week was horrible. Vet was pretty sure she had the big 'C.' She was in pain. She couldn't even get around.

Our vet came to our house. We spent the last hour of her life with her in the front yard, laying in the grass, in the sunshine. We fed her shrimp for lunch. She died in our arms.

I heard someone say that we know we've gone to Heaven when all of our pets run up to greet us. I hope that's true. My mom came over to say goodbye toher and told her to look for my childhood dog, Tara, and Tara would be with her mom and they'd show her around.

My house seems empty. When I got home from work, she wasn't there to greet me. There was no thumping of her tail this morning. I gave my heart to a dog to tear...

posted by just-maggie at 9:35 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some