February 25, 2005

10:07 p.m.


Look out Jackson town...

What I last ate Curried Turkey Burgers
What I last drank 2001 Clos Du Bois Zinfandel
Song in my head Hell Yeah

So much time, so little to do... Strike that, reverse it.

In exactly three weeks from this moment I will be (probably) at least two sheets to the wind and giving an obligatory kiss on the cheek to Charley, the manager at Hal and Mal's in Jackson, Mississippi at the Sweet Potato Queen's Ball. Okay, I admit, I'm sure I'll be dancing on the bar.

I am not prepared. I am being very girly about it. After all it is a gathering of several hundred women who also have tiaras in their glove compartments. I'm just guessing they do. By the way, a friend of mine just purchased a tiara identical to mine. Only in pink. I hate her now.

What it boils down to is not knowing what to wear. This is silly. I am a grown woman. I am a grown woman with a parade outfit. Yes. A parade outfit. It's fabulous. Really. But, this is a whole weekend of women who are "too old for this shit" not being "too old for this shit." What does one where for such occasion? Mind you, I have roughly 8 dozen hot pink rhinestones and not a clue what to do with them... But, I'm not afraid to use them.

My husband is scared. There are parts of my house that look like a drag show exploded in it. A few years ago, a friend, doing up her nails for parade weekend, got a rhinestone lodged in her nose. I won't say how.

This parade is the light at the end of my tunnel. I have been working my ass off, my damn dog had to go and die, and my husband and I work opposite shifts. I look forward to this more than I looked foward to high school graduation. No matter how bad my day gets, there's always Jackson. And next month, when it's all over. I can look forward to next year. There's always Jackson...

posted by just-maggie at 10:07 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
1 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some