July 30, 2004

4:48 p.m.


Crock Pot on Wheels

What I last ate
What I last drank
Song in my head

I think I'm going to refer to my car as the Crock Pot on Wheels.

See, I live in Phoenix. This means the daytime temperature reaches 110 around the beginning of June and stays that way until the middle of Septemeber. Subsequently, the inside of my car (which is dark gray) reaches something around 450 degrees.

When I was growig up (like I'm done?) I remember all this talk about how you could fry an egg on the sidewalk in the middle of July. Now, I don't know about that. But, on most days I feel pretty certain that if I parked my car out in the sun all day I could make a pretty nice pot roast in there while I was at work. Or at least some chicken and dumplings. Give a whole other meaning to Meals on Wheels don't it?

And, think of all the energy I could save! Here in Arizona, we have been experienceing "rolling blackouts." We're supposed to have some transformer brought in to help but I think it stuck its thumb out and hitched a ride to Vegas when no one was looking... If I could convince others to do this IMAGINE the electricity we could conserve! Janet Napolitano would be forced to name something after me.

posted by just-maggie at 4:48 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some