August 04, 2004

8:04 a.m.


Where did Lilith go?

What I last ate
What I last drank
Song in my head

I miss the Lilith Fair.

I know Sarah MacLachlan's got a new album out and all but it's just not the same. Of course, each year the Liltih Fair happen to occur in the middle of July in Phoenix. But still.

I went all three years. The first year I went with my friend Fran. Franand I sat smack dab in the middle of a large group of lesbians. However, it seemed that anywhere you sat you were smack dab in the middle of a large group of lesbians....

Now, the Fair had a number of different freebies that vendors would pass out. Anything from tapes, to sun screen to temporary tattoos. They even had the Trojan Man. This stumped me. How would you like to be the Trojan Man, wearing the Trojan Man costume of course, at the Lilith Fair in Phoenix in the middle of July? Can you say barking up the wrong tree? The lesbians sitting around us were quite amused by the straight girls. They thought it funny to get as many freebies from the Trojan Man and give them to us. Fran and I left with at least a gross of his products. I tried REALLY hard to use them and not let them go to waste...

Humorous giveaways aside... Music did not get better than that. You had every genre of music imaginable and I loved that. Erykah Badu is amazing live. Twice I got moved to tears: once when Martina McBride sang Love's the Only House and Sarah MacLachlan's Angel. Sheryl Crow kicked ass and the Indigo Girls were too much fun.

Maybe I just miss concert Festivals (remember the Horde Tour? Barenaked Ladies, Dave Matthews, Matchbox 20, Lenny Kravitz and Blues Traveler in ONE day...) I think I just miss concerts...

posted by just-maggie at 8:04 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some