August 06, 2004

7:56 a.m.


I found my soul!!!!

What I last ate
What I last drank
Song in my head

I've done a good bit of soul searching and I finally found my soul has been hanging out in the South. I had wondered where it was and never expected to find it there.

Myself, I have not been east of Corpus Christi since I was about 5. But somehow, my soul has managed to soak up a very good amount of the Southland. I am damn jealous of my soul. It has had much more fun than I have. I've just been sitting here in Arizona while it's been drinking coffee and eating beignets at Cafe Du Monde. As a result, I now have a severe case of Southern envy. I want to be Southern, I really do. Maybe someday I will be. I'm just glad my soul is Southern. And my soul is good people!!!

My soul loves to say y'all (and knows how it's spelled). She likes to sleep late in the mornin's. She don't like to wear no shoes. She is a HUGE Johnny Cash fan. She stands barefooted in her own front yard with a baby on her hip. She does not speak ill of those she doesn't like, she just says, "bless her heart." She is a Sweet Potato Queen Wannabe Wannabe. Likewise, she loves to hang out at Hal and Mal's in Jackson, Mississippi. She can sing you a mean version of Delta Dawn. She eats fried foods like crazy. She loves ho'made lemonade. She puts Maker's Mark in it on occasion. She always has her toes neatly painted. She knows which fork is which. She makes a killer jambalaya. She plays a mean game of dominoes. She roots for Ole Miss. She can wear a hat with style and she would never dream of missing church on Sunday.

I'm quite proud of her and I love her and she LOVES all y'all!!!

posted by just-maggie at 7:56 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some