September 28, 2004

8:28 p.m.


We're on a road to nowhere

What I last ate Chicken curry
What I last drank Chocolate Milk
Song in my head Live Like You Were Dying

I'm not understanding real estate in Arizona. This, of course, is a completely moronic thing for me to say as I work for a highly successful land development company.

All I now is this: When my family moved to Phoenix, they bought a house in Maricopa County that was not yet annexed to Phoenix. Orange groves, cotton fields and corn, I tell ya. I lived in the produce section of Phoenix.

When I bought my house three years ago, I worked out in the middle of nowhere. Glory of working in land development. So I bought as close to the middle of nowhere as I could afford. Glory of working for very high end land development company. Turns out my house is actually smack dab in the middle of somewhere. With our expanding family, we've out grown the house. Here's where our dilemma comes into play.

In order to afford a house where I am, the size I'd like, with the amenities I'd like, I would have to turn over my daughter as a down payment, which negates the need to buy a house for our expanding family.

So I'd like to buy a house in the middle of nowhere. Of course this middle of nowhere would have to be a driveable distance to my formerly middle of nowhere work, which also, as it turns out, is now smack dab in the middle of somewhere.

I've been looking. I drove out to a potential next middle of nowhere. Oddly, the middle of nowhere has become incredibly expensive. Damn land developers....

posted by just-maggie at 8:28 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some