May 18, 2005

9:26 p.m.


MRS. America

What I last ate Pork Chops
What I last drank a Corona
Song in my head What Was I Thinking

I married Captain America. Really, I did. I joke about it often, but it's true.

He's blonde. Blue-eye'd. Tall. His father worked for the Department of State. He's a former firefighter. A former high school teacher. He's a policeman. He's a National Guardsman.

I love my husband for all of these reasons and a few dozen more. But really, being his wife is freaking exhausting. I feel horrible selfish in saying that. I think there should be a support group for the significant others of superheroes. I think Lois Lane and I could be great friends. We'd drink lots of wine and swap recipes while our husbands save the world. We'd go shopping and tell each other, "Those pants don't make you look fat." We'd talk about how hard it is to be taken seriously in our jobs, being women and all. She would wathc my daughter while I snuck out for a pedicure. It would be fun. And while we were doing all this fun stuff, we wouldn't think about the fact that Lex Luther exists.

posted by just-maggie at 9:26 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Contact Me
0 comments so far
Exits
Thanks
And Then Some